The first instance of withdrawal

On January 1st I almost made the mistake of logging in, but fortunately I only made it as far as my own store (which I had already closed) before I remembered. Thats just how routine my Etsy mornings had become. Unfortunately, I was also kind of bad and I did a bunch of Etsy shopping the last two days of December, so I had some email messages from the sellers about my purchases and it made me want to sign on too. But I resisted and simply emailed them back instead.

I also desperately needed a weekly planner at this point and this is when I experienced my first true withdrawal symptoms. I do attempt to buy things on Etsy whenever there’s a good selection to choose from and I knew I had some planners in mind but now, due to my chronic procrastination, I couldn’t buy them. The idea of buying handmade has become increasingly important to me in the past year, so now I was forced to find another source for my planner.

Thus I began spending time browsing other stores and galleries for a weekly planner. So now that I couldn’t shop on Etsy, I was simply finding substitutions to fill the same blocks of time I used to spend on there. And I realized this very early into my quest, so I did spend maybe a little less time than I would’ve on Etsy but not much less. For me a weekly planner is something I would normally invest more time than most folks would in looking for the perfect one because I’m horribly indecisive, but also because I have to stare at this thing for 52 weeks. It needs to be something that will make me happy for an entire year. Finally I ended up choosing this Little Otsu beauty  from Buy Olympia

blog1.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Etsy, Shopping

One response to “The first instance of withdrawal

  1. Mandy S

    I shopped for 3 weeks for an appropriate planner and ended up getting one that I really can’t stand. Good for you for sticking to your guns and getting something original and cute. I ended up with a crap-green one that aesthetically has very little to offer. Oh, and you don’t know the half of withdrawal until you give up cigarettes….I should start my own blog about how hard THAT has been this week. Jeez!

Leave a Reply

