American giving

132678210_77ea5c7462.jpgimage courtesy of Rob Maguire

I usually love gift giving. Oftentimes its more fun for me to shop for other people than it is to shop for myself. This month, however, this wasn’t the case. Although I have been frustrated all month when shopping for myself, I just wanted to sit down and cry the other day when I was shopping for a friend’s birthday. I actually avoided going out to shop because I was dreading not finding what I wanted. For a shopaholic like myself, this is obviously a horrible feeling.

Eventually I forced myself out. All I really wanted to find was a pair of tights for Jennifer to go with the dress I bought her on Etsy. I really wanted to find a yellow pair, but considering the stores are packed with swimsuits at this point in the year, I knew the tights selection would be slim anywhere I went. So I remained flexible. Two hours and eight stores later, I finally left with a pair of grey tights that practically blended into the dress. But they were made in the USA and I had my shopper’s soul sucked out of me 20 minutes into the trip, so I settled on them and bolted to my car.Up until this point I was trying not to “settle” on purchases because I could technically do without them until next month. But since this was a gift, I didn’t have a choice. I cannot imagine how people who truly enjoy shopping could possibly attempt to shop USA for more than 6 months. I guess it comes down to what is more important to you – supporting the dwindling American manufacturing industry or recreational buying. And unfortunately it appears as if the shopper inside me is going to win out here. 

7 Comments

Filed under Made in USA, Shopping

7 responses to “American giving

  1. Cynthia Bradley

    There’s a aterrific on-line site to purchase American-made products; clothes, toys, food, and lots more. the website is http://www.shopforamerica.com. Check it out.

  2. yankeestestsite

    Hi,
    I happened to be in wordpress looking for a way to fix an error on my theme when I found the tag finder and typed in Made in USA. I think I might be able to help you. If I understand correctly you are trying to buy all “Made in USA” for a year? Well then, let me see if I can help you succeed. Because of this exact frustration, I started a reference web site for users such as your self. Try http://www.madebyyankees.net and madebyyankees.com. email me if you don’t find what you are looking for. I really want to know what people are looking for and I do want to find whatever it is and add it to my database. Or just plain email me and I might be able to recommend something. I may very well have been able to help you with the tights! Good luck!

  3. susanne

    I don’t understand why it’s “bad” to buy something made in China. We live in a global economy. Even Etsy is global, right? Rather than turning our backs on other economies, we should be trying to figure out where we can be competitive, and in my opinion the key to staying competitive is education. I am uneasy with the underlying message of “Buy American” as it sounds xenophobic to me.

  4. Sabrina

    You may or may not get this for a while but I just wanted to give you two thumbs up for attempting USA made. My husband and I are attempting to do the same thing and we know how frustrating it is. Try shopping for yarn that is USA made without ordering online!

  5. To the previous poster, Xenophobia is the “fear” of foreigners or foreign things, I can’t see how wanting to buy locally is xenophobic. Aditionally just because we have a global economy doesn’t mean that it’s a good global economy. Buying silk and spices and beutiful handmade art from China is a good thing. Shipping our supplies there to be made into something cheap and crappy and sent back here is not. We (our worlds cultures) are being muted out by the “global economy.” I think people who like to shop just use this line as a cop out from more responsible living.

    To the blogger, I wholely support your efforts to “buy used” or American. I have to say that I rarely buy anything new. I have been doing this for about 8 years and I must tell you I felt so liberated from the whole shopping thing when I set myself this rule. Even when buying gifts I looked for used items. But now that I have Etsy I tend to gift shop there. Love your blog.

  6. susanne

    Buying american and buying locally are not the same thing. America is a really big country. I can see the sense in buying local goods, but I do not see the sense in buying american.
    Why do you assume that products from China are cheap and crappy? They simply have lower labor costs than we do, right now. That may change.
    I disagree that world cultures are being muted out by the global economy. I have been traveling alot in the last six months, mostly in SouthEast Asia, and I have found local cultures and local crafts to be the biggest selling point for many countries. Most of the countries I have visited have emphasized and subsidized their local crafts, as an “entry point” to the global market.

  7. susanne

    p.s.
    “I think people who like to shop just use this line as a cop out from more responsible living.”
    I think people who “Buy American” use this line as a cop out from recognizing their own racism.
    Grow up.

Leave a Reply

