Once More, with Feeling!

best

So six years ago I attempted an exercise in self discipline whereby I decided to give up one thing every month to see it how it would impact my life and then blog about the experience. The first half of this experiment worked pretty well. Certain months had more of an impact on my life and altered behaviors and attitudes more than others, but in general I was satisfied with the experience. However my attempt to blog the whole 12 months, well, you can see for yourself how well that went.

I have decided to revisit this experiment again in 2014. I had been toying with the idea for a while, but after my dad passed away in July my perspective on a lot of things changed. There is nothing like the loss of a loved one to wake you up to the reality of time and the fact that everyone only has a finite amount of it. I want to make sure I’m making healthy choices in how I spend the time I have left, so I felt I needed to reexamine my daily routines to make sure I’m doing just that.

As for blogging about it, well I’m going to set more realistic goals. In my ideal world I would have fodder for daily updates and a determination to make that happen. In reality though, I’m simply committing to actually blogging all twelve months this time and that’s that. Fortunately I’ve chosen to give up procrastination in January so this probably will result in a solid jump start to the second round of this blog… I hope.

In any event this should turn out to be an interesting year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

